Pool photos and a recipe

Here are some more shots from the 4th of July weekend. Morgan enjoys chillin’ in his little inflatable crab that we purchased with gift cards from my mom’s coworkers. They were awesome to throw her a “grandmother’s shower” and we enjoyed shopping during her visit in June.
Morgan got so many cards and well wishes for his birthday! I love them all 🙂 I plan to save them so that he can see them when he’s a bit older. It still overwhelms me that he has been greeted with so much love by all of our family and friends.
We stumbled upon another successful baby recipe using leftovers from Morgan’s birthday dinner and I thought I would share:
Coconut Rice with Sweet Potatoes
  • 1c Rice
  • 1c coconut milk
  • 1c water
  • **Prepare rice according to package directions substituting 1 c coconut milk for 1c of the water called for.
  • add 1/2c cooked sweet potato to 1/2 c prepared rice and chop in food processor or blender. Makes 2 portions for baby.

This is another high calorie dish to help bulk our little guy up. He was 17.5lbs at his well baby appointment yesterday–fully clothed. Looks like I have my work cut out for me.

4 Comments

Filed under homemade baby food, Planning Family Meals

4 responses to “Pool photos and a recipe

  1. Michelle L

    Thanks for the recipe. Oliver is the same age and barely weighs 19 so I am also always looking for high calorie recipes.

    Oliver also has that same crab for the pool! Too cute, he loves it also. Hope we can get them together sometime.

  2. Alyssa

    Hello there. I’ve been reading your blog for a couple of weeks. I’m not sure where I found it. We must just read a common blog, where I saw your comment and clicked on your name. I’m always looking for blogs of families who have boys around my son’s age. Morgan is such a cutie! I have a son who is 17 months old. He’s been home for almost a year. He is also on the small side. Thanks for the recipe! I will try it out. Another good idea, I have found, is smoothies. You can put almost anything in them. We put fruit, spinach, half and half, tahini paste and avocado. If you can think of any other high calorie foods that puree nicely, go for it! Sometimes I add honey if it’s not sweet enough. My son drinks it down within minutes!

    Enjoy your one year old boy!!

  3. Kelli

    I will have to remember that recipe. Of course, if it were possible, I would send sweet Morgan a few of my extra pounds!

  4. ourvalentinesdaytreat

    Oh man, I was going to say exactly what Kelli did…she beat me to it. I have a solid 15 extras I’d be more than happy to unload on the little guy! 🙂 Sounds like a great recipe. If I’m feeling brave enough to get out not one, but two kitchen appliances (rice cooker and food processor), I might just try it! Cute photos, as always.

Leave a Reply

