Life is hard

Morgan’s Aunt Maggie took a shot of the little guy passed out during dinner. Life has been hard since starting daycare.

I haven’t blogged about the transition because it was painful for me and I wasn’t sure what I was going to do about balancing work and family. But finally, after 3 weeks, things are getting better.

Morgan hated daycare. He cried all day and would not play with the other children for the first few days. He also started clutching a blanket all day for security. He would fall asleep within an hour of getting home and wake every few hours during the night.

I was a wreck. I worried that we did not have enough time to bond. I worried that he would forget I was his mother. I worried that he thought we had left him!

Our early childhood intervention staff really helped to ease my mind. They told me that it would take several weeks for him to adjust. They described all of his behaviors as normal for any baby…not just an adopted baby starting daycare. This allowed me enough strength to wait it out.

This week, Morgan left his blanket in the crib at daycare. He plays with the other kids and he goes willingly to his caregiver and smiles at me and gives me a big hug when I pick him up.
Thank goodness!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Life is hard

  1. Jenn

    I am right there with you! I know it will be a good experience for him, it’s just difficult getting through the transition. The best part is the big smile and hug when picking him up, I am sure! 🙂

  2. ourvalentinesdaytreat

    Oh, I’m sooo glad that Morgan has adjusted to day care. I’m sure the transition was just brutal. I’m sure you’re relieved! LOVE the photo – on the few occasions Mattix has fallen asleep in his high chair, I’ve about died. It’s too cute!

  3. Jennifer

    Glad things are going well. He is adorable!

  4. abc123vn

    That is such good news to hear that he is adjusting to daycare! He is so cute!

Leave a Reply

