Working Mama Survival

Today was “one of those days”.

Morgan was having trouble sleeping–waking us up every 2-3 hours last night and very angry that he couldn’t communicate what was wrong. It was a struggle for everyone to wake up and get out of the house this morning.

I threw on the first thing that I could find that looked semi-coordinated and made a dash for the door with my little guy following close behind. He didn’t make it out to the garage because he got distracted by slamming the door to the laundry room. When I went back for him, I snagged my tights on a basket of laundry and ripped the leg. AGH!

So, by the time I got in the car–I realize that I have no deoderant on and my tights are ruined. I look like I’ve been dead for a month because white girls need make-up in the fall…and my hair seriously needs to be washed and styled. I cannot coast on the up-do another day!

When I got to work–toting some massive caffeine to get me through the morning, I thought about a Working Mama’s Survival Kit.
*Deoderant (A must if you work with clients)

*Extra tights/hose for cold weather months

* Emergency Cosmetics: face powder, bronzer

*Tooth brush, paste, floss (Because heck…there are days when that doesn’t happen either!)

*Packets of instant oatmeal (keeps me honest and out of the vending machines)

What are your survival tips?? How do you deal with mornings where everything goes wrong?
4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Working Mama Survival

  1. Sandra M.

    Ok I'm not a working mama…just a working gal! (But I think all of us ladies need a survival kit in the office, I have kept one for years)

    My kit in my office includes the following:

    1. Advil PMS formula (need I say more), Dayquil, band aids
    2. Black and white thread and a needle
    3. Lip liner and lip gloss
    4. Tights (in the winter)and clear nail polish
    5. Lotion, toothbrush, toothpaste, floss, mints/gum
    6. Oatmeal, cereal & Fiber Sure (thanks for the Fiber Sure advice Jen – i think it is slowly working)
    7. Crystal light packets to add to water
    7. Hair clip, Hair spray/gel (I have wavy hair and if it gets wet it looks like a fro)
    8. Cardigan/sweater, 1 pair of flip flops (for end of the day when your feet are killing from wearing heals and the thought of walking through the parking lot makes you want to cry)
    9. Umbrella

  2. Kelli

    Good idea- never thought about it but I’m gonna need all of the help I can get!

  3. Bina

    Well, I don’t wear pantyhose, and since my youngest is now 5, I usually just have bandaids on hand. It’s so nice to not have to cart around all that extra stuff anymore!

  4. Laura

    OMG, I hate that I’m laughing at your expense, but your post just cracked me up! I don’t even work outside the home and you pretty much described a typical day for me!

    “I realize that I have no deodorant on and my tights are ruined. I look like I’ve been dead for a month because white girls need make-up in the fall…and my hair seriously needs to be washed and styled. I cannot coast on the up-do another day!”

    Girl, I swear I could have written that!

Leave a Reply

