Recipe

Claire modeling her new Halloween Costume
As you might have guessed from the unattractive black screen–I am having Blogger issues. The other day I almost wiped the entire blog out and still haven’t recovered my links and html data.

Work is still crazy busy this time of year, but I wanted to share a great autumn recipe!

Apricot Oatmeal: Serves 3-4 depending on how much your hubby eats!

2 cups Old Fashioned Oats
1.5 cup Milk
1 3/4 cup water
1 cup chopped apricots (I used a 6oz can drained–no fresh available this time of year)
pinch of salt (optional)

Add Milk and Water to pan with pinch of salt
bring to a boil
Add Oats and chopped apricots
Reduce heat to low and simmer 5 minutes until liquid is absorbed to desired consistency

We add lots of smart balance to Morgan’s bowl and plenty of toasted pecans to ours!

Apricots are a wonderful source of Vitamin A–for growth and development. **If you plan to use dried apricots, choose an unsulfured variety and add with the water and milk so that they will be soft when you serve them.

Enjoy!

** A big congratulations to the CAS families on their way to pick up their babies this month! After a long wait-many over 200 days–more little ones are coming home!
2 Comments

Filed under Planning Family Meals

2 responses to “Recipe

  1. Bina

    She is so cute! I made my dog a wizzard costume. Hat and all. I need to take a picture of her with it on, now that I finally got her hair cut!

    And I didn’t know you were still blogging over here. I’ve been over at the other one and nothing.

  2. Michelle L

    Thanks for the great recipe suggestion. I will try that! I also used your idea to mix peanut butter with sweet potatoes, I make his pancakes with that mix. They are good! Keep the tips coming, still trying to put some weight on my little guy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

