This week–new recipe

The photo has nothing to do with my post, but I have wanted to post it for so long! This is Morgan with Kristin’s beautiful daughter ,Lilly, last summer. I really wanted to post each day for National Blogging Month–but it just isn’t happening. Morgan has been sick, Jeremy has been working long hours, and I have been juggling home and work.

I stumbled across a new recipe last week–I had bought some more butternut squash, which is one of Morgan’s favorites. I wanted to add protein to it and had just bought some almond butter at Sun Harvest. Morgan is still not a huge fan of meat–so I use a lot of beans, nuts, cheeses, and eggs to add protein to his meals.

Cinnamon Apple Squash with Almond Butter
  • one package of peeled, chopped butternut squash (or you can chop and peel 1 med)
  • one 4 oz container of natural apple sauce
  • 2 tbs almond butter
  • cinnamon (to taste)

Steam squash according to package directions (5-8 minutes if using whole squash)

Mash squash with apple sauce and almond butter. Add cinnamon to taste.

Makes 3-4 servings

Happy News–after nearly a week of fever and fussiness, the little guy has his 7th tooth!
Also, Jeremy’s parents will be here at the end of next week 🙂

7 Comments

Filed under Planning Family Meals

7 responses to “This week–new recipe

  1. La Belette Rouge

    That sounds sooooo autumnally delicious. I am making that recipe. I heart apple butter.I wonder if I could use that instead of apple sauce. What do you think?

  2. Jen

    I think apple butter would be spicy and delicious! You wouldn’t need the cinnamon. Maybe we will try that next?

  3. Laura

    Oh my gosh, they are way too cute together! They almost look like siblings. Unless of course you guys (parents) have a marriage arrangement. If so, disregard that comment b/c it’s creepy. 🙂 What adorable kiddos!

    This recipe sounds awesome. Matty and I LOVE butternut squash and this sounds like one my ever-expanding butt can actually tolerate, unlike some of the other delicious sounding ones you’ve posted – targeted at the kids, of course – that I would love to eat. And it sounds like this is something this kitchen-challenged girl could make. Thank you!

  4. Jenn

    sigh…. wish i could get lilly, morgan and amos together. i'll have to try the recipe sometime this fall. did i mention i am planning on going back to being a vegetarian?

    p.s. i haven't forgotten about the lunch tote..just been bogged down by projects & life. let's connect soon via email to talk logistics.
    p.p.s. have you used skype before?

  5. Kristin

    What a cute picture! I wish I could say that I’ve even uploaded the pictures into my computer, but I can not. Funny how I’m not on top of things the way I used to be. Wonder why?

    Can’t wait to see you in December!

  6. Lisa

    That recipe sounds yummy! I can’t wait to try it!

  7. Kristin

    I made this for Thomas and he actually ate some — with his own spoon from his own bowl. We’re calling it a success!

Leave a Reply

