Smoothie Day 2

Yesterday I came home from work and made another “Green Smoothie”

This time, I used a banana, 1c frozen mixed berries, 1.5c spinach and 1.5c romaine. I added a bit of Valencia orange juice that was sitting in the fridge and the rib of celery that raw enthusiasts insist “Hydrates you like nothing else”.

It looked like baby spinach…or baby poop as Jeremy was quick to point out. The taste was quite a bit more bitter–I added 2 packets of sweetener and could still get a hint of bitterness. Still, I managed to drink it and still had to share with Morgan and our chihuahua who seems to be quite the green smoothie devotee. Morgan had this super gross “poopy green smoothie mustache” but he had about 1/4-1/2 cup of it. Green goodness for the little guy!

Observations from day 2: the smoothies definitely have a diuretic effect. My sausage fingers don’t look as bad as usual and my rings feel less tight. I usually have leg cramps/restless legs and these are not as severe. I have been researching vitamins to help with the cramping and everything points to magnesium and potassium.

I have a recipe for a chocolate coconut version that I plan to try tomorrow. Today, I went back to Romaine and Mango but added a banana for more potassium. I think the romaine is not as bitter as the spinach–and raw foodist advise against spinach smoothies as a daily drink because of the oxalates which can bind calcium from absorbing as well as potentially cause kidney stones.

Remember–all things in moderation. Even too much spinach isn’t a good thing 🙂

I’m conducting my own little experiment to see how this gets Morgan and I through the cold season. We are getting lots of vitamin C and antioxidants. Still, there isn’t anything wrong with just eating a nice bowl of vegetable soup if this one isn’t for you!

3 Comments

Filed under Green Smoothie

3 responses to “Smoothie Day 2

  1. Alyssa

    I made your squash recipe tonight and it was a huge hit! Zach loved every bite. I am a big smoothie fan, so I will also try a green smoothie one of these days. I am looking forward to a green, poop mustache of my own. Zach, too 🙂

  2. Kelli

    What’s that you say? Smaller sausage fingers? I may have to try this out!

  3. Sandra

    Thanks so much for your latest post…I think you may have gotten me to try green smoothies! Have you noticed a positive effect on your energy?

Leave a Reply

