First day back at the gym

Hopefully I won’t be hiding behind a purse and scarf much longer! I am back at the gym 🙂

First, let’s set the scene…as I’ve told you my gym changed from “semi-chic” to Cheap without ammenities. For goodness sakes, they even took the scales and hair dryers out! All so that the 10.00 per month “Main gym” could pack people in like Sardines. I joined the 35.00 per month “Women only Side” to spare myself the Cholos ogling women on the stair master.

Things I have had to reconcile: I am no longer young, fit, or remotely attractive in horizontal striped T-shirts. My target heart rate is also much lower than it used to be…and it’s humiliating to huff away on the elliptical at a snail’s pace while the young and perky chicks bounce along at ludicrous speed.

The good news? My backside looks better already…I know I know…wishful thinking.

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “First day back at the gym

  1. Michelle Lynchard

    Go Jen Go!! Very soon you will be that perky chick annoying someone else while you sprint along . . . maybe even in a horizontal striped t-shirt.

  2. Kristin

    Good for you! I would love to be able to hit the gym again, but the lack of a membership really sets me back. 🙂

    I would be so pissed if I joined a gym and a few months later they change their “format”…that would have been my big excuse for giving up. Good for you for going anyway!!!

  3. Jess and Paul

    Way to go! I REALLY, REALLY need to start working out. But I hate it. I have noticed big changes in my body lately, and I know it is only going to get worse. If only I was a movie star and had my own gym in my house complete with a personal trainer who would literally pull me out of bed in the morning. Seriously, that is the motivation I need at this point. Oh, and a personal chef would help too.

  4. La Belette Rouge

    Cutest family ever with or without gym!!!:-)
    p.s. congrats on your pre-New Years gym attendance.

  5. Laura

    OMG, you have me laughing for so many reasons. WTG on the gym return. Um, keep blogging about it b/c it makes me feel better. 🙂

  6. abc123vn

    Haha…I get a membership from my husband’s employer and have not used it forever. I so need to but I figure chasing after twins for the moment is a good work out!

Leave a Reply

