Happy New Year!

OMG–a friend of mine posted this on facebook this week and I laughed so hard that I almost peed my pants. Here is a shot of our junior high heart throbs that were in a band called “TALIN”
That one in the center rocking the oh so sweet mullet and midriff muscle tee? My date for 8th grade homecoming….good times.
******
We spent a few days at Loew’s Ventana Canyon Resort in Tucson for NYE–sorry no pictures, we were enjoying ourselves…but not recording any of it.

Morgan did amazingly well on the 5 hour drive up and back. And, I have to say that hotel is MADE for people with kids and pets. We checked in to discover that our little guy had his crib ready to go, a small stuffed bear as a gift from the hotel, a complimentary toiletry set of baby goodies, and another small Fisher Price toy given to us at the front desk. Claire had run of the hotel and the room service menu served up delicious doggie delights! There was supposed to be an arrival gift for her as well…but we didn’t get that one 😦

The first night of our trip, we hit a local sushi place and Morgan chowed down on seaweed salad like I go after cheesecake. It was ridiculous! He kept making the “more” sign and going “OOH OOH!” He did not enjoy California rolls, but was quite happy munching on steamed cabbage and carrots. My child is an instinctive vegetarian. He also danced an rocked along to the hotel lounge singer while stealing the bar mix off of our table to Jeremy’s chagrin. There was a lot of competition for spicy cheese straws and our waitress’s attention.

The next day, it was off to the pool for a good time. Morgan was ever the ladies man, waving at women and almost tripping over a pool umbrella to get second looks. He smiles and makes his “I don’t know” face where he shrugs and lifts his palms up and it cracks everyone up. He enjoyed filling an empty cup with water and spilling out half of the contents of the pool on the concrete.

That night, the concierge arranged for a lovely woman to baby sit so that Jeremy and I could have a grown up night on the town. We got all dressed up and enjoyed a candlelight dinner for two overlooking the water in front of our hotel. It had been too long! I loved laughing like we were still dating and sharing our food like we used to.

After our meal, we hit the hotel lounge for their big NYE party. I must be a FREAK magnet, because this very drunk woman in less than half of a dress and sporting WAAAAY too much silicone came up to me and starting talking about how lame the party was and that she was “singing tonight, baby”. She kept rubbing her boobs on my back and talking very close to my face. She seemed so unstable that I wasn’t sure if she would burst into tears, kick my ass, or try to make out with me! Like I had just seen a wasp…I just froze with a smile on my face hoping she would go away. Her friend finally pulled her back to the bar and Jeremy starting laughing telling me that I should have gotten her number….or at least the number of her plastic surgeon. EEEE.

The place was insanely crowded and there was nowhere to sit the entire evening. After several hours of standing around in 3.5 inch heels, I needed a place to rest while Jeremy was on his tenth trip to the men’s room. I came across an empty seat in the lobby and plunked down only to be told by this mean old chair Nazi that the seat was reserved. RESERVED? In a lobby? We bickered back and forth about my aching feet and her absent friend and I huffed off to sit in front of the concierge desk….which was likely the least desirable seat at the party. Jeremy and I made fun of the chair Nazi and her rhinestone cowgirl looking friend all night….particularly enjoying when a group of teenagers tried to sit at the empty couch across from her and she told them that a couple had spent “Alot of money” on a half drunk bottle of wine on that coffee table and that they could not sit down. We then proceeded to watch her royal bitchiness take the couch and the half drunk wine for herself. HOW RUDE. Later that night, Jeremy had to stop me from spilling my champagne on the old witches while we were tearing up the dance floor. I swear that I could have pulled off the “accidental spill” but he was sure I would go to jail πŸ™‚

Alas, maybe controlling my temper should be my first resolution?? And maybe Jeremy wasn’t so far off when he bought me that bottle of wine….

Happy New Year my friends! And crab curses to the chair Nazi!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Jess and Paul

    Whoa, sounds like you had a fun time to say the least! I love your narration of events. And that pic…OMG!

  2. James and Melissa

    Wow, it sounds like you had a good time and have a good story to tell. πŸ™‚ Happy New Year!

  3. Laura

    I realize that I’m a month late here, but this post had me laughing! You and I are WAY too alike. I swear, we’d have so much fun going out together. I would have helped you with the accidental spill, BTW, not discouraged you. Then we could have went to jail together. I’ve heard jail in Tucson is sorta icky, though, esp. the drunk tank. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

