Looking Back

I am home today, nearly incapacitated by the common cold, and crying my eyes out over an episode of “An Adoption Story”. It quickly takes me back to our trip to Vietnam and our first meeting with the little guy.

When I think about it now–my son was so brave! He allowed his clumsy new parents to hold him and love him from the start. He laughed with us and showed his sweet little personality in small glimpses that first 24 hours even though he must have been so confused by what was happening.

I am constantly amazed by my little one. Everything in his life was turned upside down and he managed to adjust. It thrills me to watch him today–confident and posessing this quirky little sense of humor….and so full of affection and love.

Words will never describe the reward of being loved by a child that you did not give birth to. It feels like a miracle to earn their trust and respect. It fills me with joy to meet his needs and to know that I am “mom”.

That totally outweighs the fact that said little one sat on my head at 8am with a poopy diaper. What a way to deliver a message! I said my kid was quirky, right?

2 Comments

Filed under Attachment, International Adoption

2 responses to “Looking Back

  1. Laura

    This made me smile. 🙂 I’m not handing out the smiles right now, so thank you.

    Love the poopy diaper on your head story. Hilarious!

  2. Kelli

    I am not sure I could handle the adpotion story right now. I am looking at VN pictures and getting weepy.

    Morgan looks SO tiny in that picture. And to think, that same little boy is now sitting on your head with his poopy diapers- that is love like no other!

Leave a Reply

