Green Smoothie Challenge

Yesterday I started the 30 day Green Smoothie Challenge from Happy Foody’s Website.

I drank a few green smoothies last year and loved the effects: clearer skin and better nutrition, but want to see what will happen if I can keep it up for an entire month! See my Green Smoothie Challenge page on the menu bar for a full rundown of my challenge.

Yesterday, I made two smoothies. The first was a random collection of stuff that I had in the crisper as I decided to make one before visiting the grocery store for supplies 🙂

Recipe One: 1 apple, 1/2 english cucumber peeled, 1 handful parsley, 1/2 c orange juice, 1/4 c blueberries–all that I had at the moment.  I blended this is 1/2 c crushed ice and 1/2 c cold water.

Results: Taste was not my favorite–but I had inadvertently put together a recipe for detox. Morgan was almost late for school …nuff said.

Recipe 2:  1/2 c pineapple (fresh), 1 banana, 1c frozen mixed berries, 2 c baby spinach, cold water and ice (about 1/2 c each.) 

Results: taste was WAAAY better, end result on my system was the same.  I am definitely convinced that my  digestive system has sped up. Good news, woke up on day 2 with 1 lb gone and feeling good.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Green Smoothie Challenge

  1. Cindy Mason

    I need a password to see all your good stuff. Hope all is well. Miss you at work.

  2. Michelle Lynchard

    Hey your FB post on the topic inspired me to check it out and I had my first green smoothie today! Please keep the recipes coming. My first one was kind of like yours, random stuff I had in the house. The color was worse than the taste 🙂

    I am going to try to get O to try one too, we’ll see how that goes! Your earlier post about M requesting Thomas – so cute – what a big, smart boy!

    • mostlymorgan

      Thanks, Michelle! I will try to post the recipes on my vegan til noon blog. You can see the link on the title portion of this one!

  3. OK, we’ve joined you on this adventure. whole family in on it and Ada actually liked it… baby spinach, strawberries, peaches and pineapple… yummy!

Leave a Reply

