Meatless Monday: Snobby Joes (From Veganomicon)

Yes–I could seriously use a food stylist–but I am trying to take pictures of my Monday Endeavors!

Today I used a recipe from Veganomicon.  I am a die hard fan of the classic Sloppy Joe and I was not expecting t be impressed–but this recipe is delicious and easy to make. Adding maple syrup and spicy brown mustard (as opposed to the recipe calling for yellow mustard) to the simmering sauce made it sweet and sassy. I love it! The best part is that this vegan dish requires no unusual ingredients and is soy free!

I had read several comments about the recipe online and many thought that the 3 Tbs chili powder called for in the recipe was “too much” and reduced that amount. If you don’t like spice you might start with 1.5 Tbs and give it a taste. I personally thought the spice was great.

Morgan’s toddler portion was a “no go”. He’s being a bit suspicious about saucy foods lately and wanted his bread and peaches plain.  I accomodated him and added a slice of cheese for protein.

Bravo to the authors of Veganomicon for a very tasty dish! I am never disappointed when I try their stuff and their blog– The Post Punk Kitchen has a lot to offer!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meatless Monday, Planning Family Meals, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking

Leave a Reply

