Meatless Monday–Not exactly meatless.

I’m truly slacking on my cooking today. I had my glucose test this morning and have felt pretty rotten all day–although I think it has more to do with the monumental indigestion/heartburn that I have been experiencing in spite of medication x 2 days.

For lunch I had a veggie plate at a local restaurant–green salad, turnip greens, mac and cheese, and pinto beans. There were little bits of meat in the beans/greens so it wasn’t a triumph for veggie eating.

Dinner was jasmine rice and scrambled egg beaters with cheese because I just didn’t want to cook and couldn’t eat much with my stomach in rebellion. The boys had leftovers from yesterday.

I am recognizing that even for me it is hard to keep up with vegetarian meals on a set day every week. Mondays are hectic at best and it takes a bit of planning to prepare veggie meals that my husband and son will eat without complaint.   I really applaud families that are making Meatless Mondays work.  The funny thing is, I can totally accomplish a meatless meal one or more times per week…it’s just not always on Monday 🙂

I’m going to do better next week!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

