Meatless Monday: Black Bean Burgers with Mango Salsa (Cooking Light)

 

This recipe totally won us over last night! You can find the link to Cooking Light Magazine’s Black Bean Burgers with Mango Salsa here.

I made a few minor modifications to the original recipe at home–substituting egg beaters for egg whites because that is what I had available. I used 1/3 c egg beaters for 2 egg whites and ended up adding an additional scattering of panko because my original mixture was very wet when shaping the patties.

I also used frozen mango chunks because the mangos available in the produce section were hard as a rock! I just measured out the 1.25 cups and left them in a bowl on the counter for 2-3 hours to thaw and then diced into smaller pieces to duplicate the texture of the recipe. Since I usually keep frozen mango on hand I think I will stick to this modification! No peeling required 🙂

Serve with tortilla chips and salsa or veggie sticks and dip. This is awesome!

Morgan’s review? He thought the whole grain bun was “yucky” which made me laugh. I had served his in components–a toasted bun half with butter, 1/2 patty with cheese, a scoop of mango salsa, and half an avocado (his safe food). He ended up eating the cheese, avocado, and most of the bun.

Jeremy’s review: Delish! Black beans are still about the only beans he will consume so most of our Meatless Monday meals are a variation of black beans or a cheese dish. He did say that we could put this recipe into the regular rotation which is strong praise.

My review: Loved it–the cool mango salsa was perfect for spring and summer weather and the burgers had just enough kick. Both Jeremy and I felt that they were much better than a packaged black bean burger from the freezer section. The prep took about 40 minutes–so that was a slight problem, but I think it will get better as I become more comfortable with the recipe.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meatless Monday, Nutrition, Planning Family Meals, Toddler Friendly Food, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking

Leave a Reply

