Dragging Ass…for lack of a better term

We survived the weekend with the feverish little guy! Sunday came and he was fever free…but he was a big old bucket of WHINE for the better part of the day. I was having my own issues to contend with, too much baby not enough room in the body! So between the two of us, Jeremy was probably contemplating a volunteer assignment to Afghanistan as a means of escape.

Morgan refused dinner last night–rosemary/walnut crusted chicken tenders, mashed sweet potatoes, and asparagus. He then demanded snacks about every 5 minutes until bed time.  Some days the kid insists on living off of cheese and crackers and it makes me crazy. I put plastic wrap over his untouched dinner plate and plan to hand it over tonight. Waste not, Want not.

J and I have been avidly following Breaking Bad on AMC –its been really intense this year! And living on the border as we do–some of the plots are frighteningly realistic.

Bedtime came and belly baby decided to take up residence with feet underneath my internal organs pushing for all she was worth. I alternated between an urge to hurl and total breathlessness. Comfort is a foreign concept–as is sleep. I tossed and turned for hours, gasping like Shamu on a beach. Is it any wonder that Jeremy did not get any sleep?

5am dawned bright and early and J was getting ready for work when Morgan let out a siren screech over the monitor. He wanted milk–then wanted into our bed–then wanted into his own bed…all accompanied by this insanely annoying trumpeting whine that was COMPLETELY uncalled for at 5am.  We went back and forth with Mommy carrying Morgan and his 75 lbs of blankets and pillows while he screamed that THIS (whatever the hell this was at the moment) was NOT what he wanted. 

Okey dokey then.  I finally plopped him and his blankets and pillows back into his bed and told him to take some deep breaths (ni Hao Kai Lan style) and figure out what he wanted! Then, when he was ready to use his words like a big boy he could let me know.  I waddled out of the room, feeling just too tired, overwhelmed, and mother #@$#ing  pregnant at 5am to deal with another peep. I turned the baby monitor off and left my bedroom door open, a nice compromise I thought!

7:30 rolled around and Morgan and all of his blankies and pillows arrived at my door demanding “Mommy! Where are you??”. It was apparent that 2 hours of sleep had not improved his mood 🙂

Somehow we made it through breakfast and getting dressed. I had an early ob appt so I was rushing him a bit and he was very anxious after 5 days at home to return to school. Thank goodness he has two of the kindest teachers on the planet. Ms “M” scooped him up at first sight and gave him a tight hug and his little head rested on her shoulder as he relished being toted around the playground (to the envy of his buddies).  Morgan’s little bestie–Peyton was there to welcome him and I knew the day would be ok.

I made the half hour trip to the hospital–scored some expectant mother parking! And stopped off at the lab for some blood work.  My ob wanted me to have a parvo titer done to make sure that I had not been exposed to the virus while Morgan was sick.  Then, off to the fetal monitoring appt. Things are looking great! No stress to baby, no contractions for Mommy. In the ultrasound you could see that baby Elmo’s hair is growing and getting longer. Can’t wait to see this little monkey!!

J was able to make it for most of the appt–he looks worse for lack of sleep than I do. Here’s hoping that Morgan has a great day at school and our drama meter will be set back to zero this evening.

I’m thinking I will be the only one participating in Meatless Monday tonight. I have plans for a spinach quiche or omelet–the boys are getting leftovers!

Leave a comment

Filed under pregnancy, sleeping, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking

Leave a Reply

