Meatless Monday: Veggie Pot Pie

With the cold weather, I am in love with all recipes involving puff pastry crust. Fortunately, I learned from the Vegan Lunchbox that Pepperidge Farm Puff Pastry crust is VEGAN!

I made a quick veggie pot pie last night using 2 diced russet potatoes, 1 cup of onion/celery prechopped from the grocery store, a package of sliced baby bella mushrooms, and a bag of frozen veggies with corn, carrots, and green beans.  I sauteed the mushrooms, potatoes and onions/celery in olive oil and then added 1 cup veggie broth and 1 cup 2% milk (I’m sure you could substitute non dairy milk if desired. All that I had on hand was some pumpkin soy milk which would not have done the job!) I then added the frozen veggies and some smart balance (1 tbs) and cooked for 30 minutes until liquid was reduced and potatoes were soft. I used a potato masher to hand mash the veggie mixture and this also thickened the liquid.

Thaw the puff pastry for 40 minutes as instructed on the package and place 1 sheet in a casserole dish. Top with veggies and then top with remaining sheet of puff pastry. I cut mine into a lattice shape because it was slightly smaller than my dish.  I then baked at 350 for another 30 minutes and served with mixed greens, chopped pears, chopped shallot, and blue cheese dressing.

Result?

All of us really enjoyed the taste of the pot pie. It was filling, but lacking in protein. I think I would like to try a meat substitute in this recipe in the future. Maybe some Mock Chicken?!? White beans would also work if your family is willing to eat them…Jeremy respectfully declines. Meat substitutes can be tricky…not sure what would work best!

Also happening this week–Leighton bug will be 6 months old on Thursday! I cannot even believe this sweet girl has been in our lives for half a year already. Look for a six month update coming later this week. (Here she is modeling the pirate’s treasure that Morgan shared with her–they are so funny together)

2 Comments

Filed under Meatless Monday, Planning Family Meals, Toddler Friendly Food, Uncategorized, Vegetarian Cooking

2 responses to “Meatless Monday: Veggie Pot Pie

  1. Yum! We LOVE potpie at our house! We actually toss tiny cubes of tofu (after soaking/sauteing it in soy sauce) in with the veggies.
    Darling pic of Leighton!

Leave a Reply

