Meatless Monday: Sopa!

While at the grocery store this weekend, I spotted a nifty little plastic bag with the ingredients for veggie soup.  I grabbed it thinking it would be great to have everything that I needed for 3.99 and no need to waste any veggies by buying more than I would  need.

The kit contained: 1/2 sweet onion, 1 turnip, 1/4 head cabbage, 2 carrots, 2 celery stalks, 1 large red potato, a squash, 1 lemon, 1 jalapeno, and a handful of cilantro ( Did I mention I live on the border? SOPA!)

I washed and chopped the veggies (omitting the pepper, lemon, and cilantro)  and put a pot on the stove with a generous drizzle of olive oil. Then, I sauteed everything for 10 minutes and added 8 cups of veggie stock. I let everything come to a boil and then lowered the heat to simmer for 45 minutes.  I then added the cilantro and removed from the heat.

To serve: fill soup bowls and garnish with lemon wedges and sliced jalapenos.

Delicioso!

**I didn’t take a picture because frankly the soup wasn’t pretty to look at. It tastes WONDERFUL, though! I plan to reheat this tonight with some cornbread and salad.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meatless Monday, Planning Family Meals, Vegetarian Cooking

Leave a Reply

