The Mom Bag

What’s in your bag?!?

I had a moment today in T@rget. I was stocking up on Kleenex, Goldfish, Boogie Wipes…the usual suspects. I reached into my bag looking for chap stick, lip gloss…NADA. I peered into the depths of what has become the Mama Bag and just started laughing. It was chaos in there…and nothing that you would expect to find in a purse…especially not my gorgeous Tori Burch bag.

When I was a young, single, convertible driving chick, I carried teeny little handbags. Inside you would find:

Keys

Cell Phone

Lipstick

Starbucks Breath Mints (because you never know!)

My gym card (because I was a Nazi about working out in those days)

Movie Ticket stubs…I used to go all the time

a plastic bracelet from a club (often hastily removed in the hospital parking lot on my way to work)

And in the “secret zipper area?” Motrin. For those days that I am removing the plastic bracelet mentioned above.

 

Now? My handbag is filled with stuff that doesn’t belong to me.

Keys??? Um…no. My keys would never be anywhere that conspicuous!

A half empty–or half full (Depending on your state of mind) bag of Teddy Graham’s

A changing pad and two diapers (because you never know!)

Boogie Wipes

A dusty binky  that no one ever loved

A plastic dinosaur (great for bribes)

A gym membership (I keep hope alive)

Cell Phone

A receipt from Starbucks. Lack of sleep makes coffee a necessity. Marriage makes breath mints kind of obsolete.

Teething toys

ONE SOCK. Why do babies lose socks so often???

A ticket stub from Chuck E Cheese (Because who the hell gets to go to the movies??)

And in the “secret zipper area?” Lollipops–great for BRIBES and Motrin. Great for days when I haven’t slept because of two small children.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Mom Bag

  1. Alyssa

    This is SO true! One time, I went to pay for something at a store and pulled out a pair of Zach’s undies with my wallet. Awesome!

  2. crack me up. love the contrast.

  3. Ha – so so sad and so true. And as they get older, it changes but not really for the better. Now there are movie tickets but the movies are lame kid movies. The awesome sunglasses do not belong to me – they are for my daughter. The snacks are things that are flat and small so I can pack lots in between sports and activities – like fruit leathers. There are hair ties – not for MY hair (which is perpetually tied up) – and change…for the “lucky coin fountain”. And yes – lots and lots of starbucks receipts but mine are for “kids caramel steamers”. Sigh.

  4. jenna

    Oh, that’s really funny because I had the same “wow, who would have guessed” moment about two weeks ago as I found Annie’s bunnies and a pair of 3T undies in my purse…and that’s just the tip of the HUGE iceburg. So funny.

Leave a Reply

