Meatless Monday: couscous and chickpea pilaf

So I’m sipping a beer and chastising myself for not blogging for so long…it’s been a busy few days.

We took a weekend road trip to Cloudcroft, NM and stayed at a haunted hotel called The Lodge. I scared myself silly listening to the bartender tell crazy tales of the red-headed ghost, Rebecca, that haunts the place. I ended up scanning our hotel room every few minutes all night long…looking for any evidence of the  supernatural. We’d been told that a couple left in the middle of the night because the ghost was offering chocolate to their child while sitting on his bed. EEK!


I sat up googling on my phone and found numerous sightings of this particular ghost–including a few that occurred in our room. Let’s just say I didn’t see anything…nor did I get any sleep.

The Lodge was truly lovely, though. The staff was great with the kids and the restaurant was awesome. I just wish that my imagination and fears hadn’t run wild!

We cleaned out the crisper drawer for Meatless Monday and ended up with a keeper.

I’m calling it Green Couscous Pilaf with lemon Dijon vinaigrette.

Ingredients:

1 cup couscous

1 cup vegetable broth or 1 cup water and 1 veggie bullion cube

1 english cucumber, peeled and chopped

3 green onions, thinly sliced

1/4 c chopped red onion

3 carrots, peeled and chopped

1 can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

2 broccoli crowns, chopped and steamed

Feta Cheese (crumbled) ***optional

1/4 c chopped fresh dill

Dressing:

1 lemon–zested and juiced

2 Tbs dijon mustard

1/3 c olive oil

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp all purpose seasoning (I used trader joe’s every day seasoning, but I think any mix you like would work here)

2  cloves garlic, pressed

1/3 cup water

Instructions: Prepare couscous according to package directions, using broth for water.  Place prepared couscous in fridge to chill while chopping/prepping the remaining ingredients.

In large bowl, combine chopped veggies, steamed and cooled broccoli, beans, and cooled couscous with chopped dill

For dressing: using wisk or hand blender, emulsify ingredients and pour over top of salad. Stir gently to combine.

Chill 1 hour to allow flavors to combine. Stop here for a vegan dish or garnish with feta cheese.

1 Comment

Filed under Meatless Monday, Planning Family Meals, Travel, Vegetarian Cooking

One response to “Meatless Monday: couscous and chickpea pilaf

  1. That’s too funny b/c I would have been the EXACT same way… fully aware that nothing would happen, and yet I’d talk myself into thinking I was seeing things. What a fun place!

Leave a Reply

