Feeding the Peeps


I’ve been on a roll this past week.

Using Annabel Karmel’s book as inspiration, I finally mustered up the courage to use my food processor and began making baby food.

I started with a simple blueberry rice cereal puree–I steamed 1/2 c blueberries for 3-4 minutes until the skins began to pop open. I then dropped them into the food chopper with 1/4c rice cereal and enough formula/breast milk to make a smooth puree.

Next, I moved on to frozen peas and then sweet potatoes. My sweet potato puree is so elegant and delicious that I think I may serve it for the holidays next year. I had to force myself to stop licking my immersion blender and fill up the baby food trays!

Cinnamon Orange Sweet Potato Puree

serves 2

1 med sweet potato, peeled and chopped

1 stick cinnamon

2-4 tbs fresh orange juice

  • Steam the sweet potato with stick of cinnamon until tender, add fresh orange juice and puree

How simple is this??

She seemed to really like it…

So few things have made her happy while she’s teething.

Don’t worry, big brother and his friends had some fabulous food for their play date this week.

I’m going to leave you with a picture of Morgan over the weekend. He refused to get dressed and insisted on wearing his favorite Christmas jammies for two days straight. He buttoned them himself–looking like the long lost love child of Hugh Hefner and “Pigpen” from the Peanuts cartoons.

Note the crayon containers doubling as a drum set. These paper covered infant formula cans are giving new meaning to the word multi purpose!

2 Comments

Filed under food processor, homemade baby food, making baby food, Nutrition, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Feeding the Peeps

  1. Leighton looks like she’s loving her new food! And how cute is Morgan’s lunch?!

    I emailed you a while ago about sleeping & eating, but I’m not sure if I sent it to the right email address. Anyways, I live by “Healthy Sleep Habit, Happy Child” by Marc Weissbluth. And I’ve been reading the “Super Baby Food” book for all of my baby food recipes. But now I think I’ll check out the one you used too – it sounds good!

    • mostlymorgan

      Thank you! I will definitely check that out. We’re mostly co-sleeping and it is making me crazy at this point. I know it is a hard habit to break and I need to do it and be done with it!

Leave a Reply

